So What Do Writers Really Do?

If you’re Stephen King or Ridley Pearson, you have the privilege of writing, well, pretty much all the time. Those two authors have sold enough books that they spend most of their days and nights either writing more books or skipping from town to town speaking to large gatherings and signing thousands of copies of their latest bestseller. Congrats to them; we want to grow up to be just like you.

For the rest of us, however, as much as we’d like to spend all our days isolated in a small outbuilding in a remote location, a fire crackling behind a stone hearth as the snow falls gently outside the window, our fingers dancing across the keyboard as the words just naturally flow like Mozart composing an opera…that’s probably not the life we actually live. We have other responsibilities. For instance, I’m a husband, dad, brother, college baseball umpire, and marketing coordinator. That’s what I do in real life. What I do on the side is write books. It’s how I make a very small living, with the hope that one day it will make me rich. Or at the very least put my now-small kids through college. In the meantime, I have a “real job.”

What are some of the things you do besides write books? Or if you are now a self-supporting author, what did you do before the money started rolling in? Share your experiences in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “So What Do Writers Really Do?

  1. I’m still a lawyer, and I imagine I always will be. The crazy thing is that I love writing, but I don’t get time so my writing career will always be slow next to the other one unless the other one disappears, but without the other one I’d have no income. So I suppose it’s always going to be a side project until someone hands me a huge pile of cash so I don’t need to support myself anymore.

  2. Ah, I believe I’ve dreamt of the fireplace, the snow, and me writing my future award winning novel. Then life calls and off to WORK I go. I teach college composition and lit. Hopefully my editing and proofreading business will take off soon too! In the meantime, I love to write! Whether or not I make a living from it is not really the point. I’d love to publish a few novels though!

Leave a Reply

