The Worst & Best Day of My Life

This weekend, as I competed in a Toastmasters contest in my local area with a theme of optimism and realizing your dreams, I was immediately reminded of a speech I gave last spring about this very topic and how a seemingly horrible situation turned into one of the best things that ever happened to me. I’d like to share my story here:

+++++

November 12, 2008 – a date that will live in infamy.

I walked into the office at my usual 6:30 that morning, planning on a regular, normal day at work. I got my coffee while I waited for my computer to boot up through its long start-up process. By 7:30, coworkers began to trickle in, and by 8:00 we had a full house. I was engrossed in putting together the agenda for an upcoming training meeting when my boss stopped by my cube.

As I turned to look at her, I could tell by her expression that I wasn’t going to like the reason for her visit. I was right. She simply said, “David, can you come with me, please?” Without saying a word, I rose from my chair and followed her silently down the long, carpeted hall toward the HR department.

The rumors that had been swirling around the office for the past month had come true. Today was layoff day. We all knew it was coming, just not when or who would be affected.

Before we reached the door, she stopped, turned toward me, and through the beginnings of tears said, “Please understand, I had nothing to do with this. This decision was made above my head and against my wishes.” I told her I understood and said it would all be okay. Would it really be okay? I had no idea. But I hoped my words would ring true.

See, Jeanne had hired me and groomed me for advancement within the company. But the decision to lay me off had come from the top and was based solely on seniority. I had none. Instead, I was one of over 35 employees in my building who were cut that morning in a layoff that saw over 100 people company-wide get the axe.

Just over a year earlier, my pregnant wife and I and our 1-year-old daughter had moved from St. Louis to Hickory, North Carolina, my wife’s hometown, to work for this company, fiber optic technology giant Corning Cable Systems – a division of Corning, Inc., makers of Corning Ware and other glass products. Our son Jacob was born in February, we bought a house in June, and now in November I had just lost my job. Needless to say, the timing was less than opportune.

After turning in my name badge and company credit card and cleaning out my cube, I drove quietly home, calling my wife on the way to let her know why I was coming home early and why.

It was the worst day of my life.

What was I going to do? I didn’t know anyone in the area, except my in-laws. I had zero business connections. And now here I was, with a one-year-old, a brand new baby, a new house, and absolutely no idea what I was going to do. I was completely lost.

After I got over the initial shock, I pulled myself together and started to list of all the things I needed to do to get back to work.

  • File for unemployment
  • Put my resume online
  • Join local networking groups
  • Look for part-time work in the meantime just to get by

The list went on…

As I thought of what to do next, I immediately thought of baseball. Not playing it – umpiring. I had started umpiring high school baseball here in St. Louis before I moved, so I knew how it worked. Immediately I hopped online and found the local umpire association in the Hickory area and got connected for the upcoming season. I also registered to work basketball, which I had already done here, too, and then decided to try something new: football.

I also realized that with all my newly-found “free time,” I would finally have an opportunity to finish something I had started almost seven years before: writing my novel.

During the time I was unemployed, many other opportunities opened up to me that I would never have found otherwise.

  • I worked my way up to umpiring college baseball and met some amazing people along the way.
  • I added football to my officiating repertoire.
  • I got to spend amazing amounts of quality time with my family, which was especially great since the kids were so little.
  • And I finally got to finish my novel.

Don’t get me wrong: financially, times were tough. We barely made it through some months. But it was an experience I will never forget – and one I will look back on fondly. I learned many lessons, one of which is how to distinguish between what I NEED and what I WANT.

It’s amazing what you can learn to live without when you don’t have a choice.

By necessity, we cut out cable TV and other extraneous expenses, and you know what we found? We became much closer as a family. We wasted less time and spent much more time doing things together.

We have five fingers for a reason: to show us what we really NEED in life:

  1. Air
  2. Clothes
  3. Food
  4. Shelter
  5. Water

There is a big difference between what we want and what we need. For instance,

  • We need air, but fortunately, it’s free.
  • We need clothes, but they don’t have to be Ralph Lauren.
  • We need to eat, but we don’t have to have gourmet food.
  • We need shelter, but it doesn’t have to be a big, fancy house in the suburbs.
  • We need water, but it doesn’t have to be Perrier.

Everything else in life is a WANT. Everything.

After nearly three years of unemployment, having exhausted what few resources I had in North Carolina, we decided it was time to make a drastic change and begin looking for jobs back here in St. Louis. We knew the job market was better here and that I had more connections here. So I put out feelers and almost immediately found the terrific job I now have with New Balance.

Thanks to being laid off four years ago, I now have a better life that I did, with more opportunities to live life the way I want to.

November 12, 2008: One of the worst days of my life. And one of the best.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Worst & Best Day of My Life

  1. Ann

    Thank you, David, for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

